Athlete of the Week: Andrea Franklin!

Today we are chatting to another one of our amazing members: Andrea F. aka Frankie

How long have you been a member at IslandFitHQ?

I believe since April, I did my elements before the official opening of the gym

How did you end up walking through our doors for the first time? Was there a pivotal event that led you to us?

I was interested in doing cross fit to change up my training routine from just weights and cardio on the machines, was just looking for the right time and place. When I heard that Cary was joining forces with the Docs to open CF:IF  I immediately checked it out.

What are your Fave training shoes?

Hmm my asics for running (when my knees allows it) and of course my Nanos.

Can you remember your first workout? What was it like?

Not exactly the first… I remember my first Saturday WOD; it was only Nicole and I and we met our good friend “Karen”: 150 wall squats, uggghhhhh!

What tunes do you like working out to?

Soca of course!

What has been one of the biggest things in your life that has changed since starting CrossFit? 

My fitness level has improved, endurance still has a long way to go, but one step at a time.

What are you doing when you aren’t CrossFitting? Career, hobbies etc

Well when I am not working as a marketing consultant, which can be all hours, I am in the gym or just chilling at home. Spending time with family and friends, enjoying a good laugh is always welcomed. Travelling to rejuvenate is a must from time to time.

Is there a CFIF member who inspires you?

My #FitFam (they know who they are) J and of course the coaches who are always pushing me to do more.

What achievement at CFIF are you most stoked about?

Generally improvement in my fitness and strength.

What are your IslandFit Plans for the future?

Well I first have to get the fundamentals perfected. I must get pull ups, double-unders, handstand push-ups down. The original target was year end but that has been derailed by my knee injury (and refusal to get up at 4:00 am with Chanda and Coach G). After that anything can happen, no stopping.

 What advice would you have for those thinking about joining us at IslandFit?

Just do it! It’s not about the competition, know your limits and work accordingly. As they say always leave your ego at the door.

Whats your favourite cheat meal?

Red velvet cup cakes, duhhhhh!

 If you could program one WOD what would it be?

AMRAP – 15mins

10 cleans – 95/75

25 wall squats

10 handstand push ups

50 SL sit ups

Thanks Andrea! 

wpid-IMG-20131117-WA0010.jpg andrea frankiecropped-crossfit-islandfit-logo-facebook-island.png

Leave a Reply

